“An Evening with Amon Amarth” North American Tour | Amon Amarth – May 2, 2011

Can’t get enough of Scandinavian metal! Amon Amarth announced this North American tour, saying they would playing two sets: their new album (Surtur Rising) in its entirety AND classics. Needless to say, the show was SOLD OUT 😀 I had been waiting for this show since December! Most of my buddies didn’t get their tickets in time, so I went pretty much by myself. I do have to think a couple of Mason students (Michael & Amy) for giving me a ride to and from the show-otherwise I would have had to pay a fortune for a cab. I had a class on Monday evening (the day of the show) and so I ended up arriving after most people. The line was intimidating; I was so far back. This worried me because Jaxx has no photographers’ gap, so I have to make my way to the front to get a nice picture spot. Fortunately, I found Cristina and Mario, a couple of friends of mine who were nice enough to let me skip all the way to the front. Sorry if you’re reading this and I skipped you! Hopefully the pictures will be worth your wait in line ^.^

The show was AMAZING. I haven’t been to a show so energetic in a while. Check them out at their official site, their Myspace page, and their Facebook page!
The lighting was decent, though the fog machine was going all out :/
Some of the pictures are blurry because of it (fog loves to stick to the inside of the lens). I used my Nikon D3000, of course! Let me know what you think of the pictures-enjoy!

A HUGE THANK YOU TO LIZ CIAVARELLA-BRENNER FROM EARSLPIT PR FOR THE PHOTO PASS AND GETTING ME ON THE GUEST LIST!!! 🙂

Amon Amarth is:
Johan Hegg – Vocals
Olavi Mikkonen – Guitars
Johan Söderberg – Guitars
Ted Lundström – Bass
Fredrik Andersson – Drums

A little side note: If you’d like to use my pictures, please let me know. I will send you whichever ones you’d like without the watermark. I’m cool about it as long as I’m notified about it. Otherwise, you’ll have to use these watermarked ones. Thanks!

Show no fear….-G.G. \m/