The Finnish Metal Tour 2011 | Barren Earth-March 2011

BARREN EARTH!! To put it simply, this is a Finnish supergroup consisting of members from amazing bands: Amorphis, Moonsorrow, Swallow the Sun, and Kreator! I’ve been waiting for these guys to come to the states since the summer of 2010 when I first heard their song “Flicker” on Music Choice’s Metal Channel. I’ve been listening to their new EP titled Curse of the Red River and their demo called Twilight. Definitely check them out at their official site and/or their Myspace page.

Naturally, if you like doom metal (i.e. pretty much the bands they’re coming from) you’ll definitely like Barren Earth. Beautiful melodies and badass heavy metal. That’s all ya need…It’s great to hear Sami on vocals, too. Not something you hear quite often, honestly.

So regarding photography, I have no idea why Jaxx decided to do a crappy job with the lighting. I spend a good part of the show just messing with the settings until I felt comfortable with them. They really need to get crackin’ on their lighting though, especially for “opening” bands! As such, some of the pictures are blurry and weird looking, so I tried to edit them in a way that looked artistic, etc. I wish I could have taken pictures of Sami!! But he was on the other side…I’m so used to him playing on the left side onstage with Kreator…but oh well. Unfortunately, I could not take any decent pictures of the keyboardist or drummer…as usual. 😦 Anyway, I took these with my baby Napeleon: Nikon D3000. Please enjoy and let me know what you think πŸ˜€

Barren Earth is:
Mikko KotamΓ€ki – Vocals
Olli-Pekka Laine – Bass
Kasper MΓ₯rtenson -Keyboards
Janne PerttilΓ€ – Guitar
Marko Tarvonen – Drums
Sami Yli-SirniΓΆ – Guitar (ahhh…Sami ^.^)

Thank you to Outerloop for the photo pass! πŸ˜€

…”Where they go death always follows…” -G.G. \m/