Vodka Revolution Tour | Týr-January 16, 2010

My friends(our clan!) got me into Týr in late 2009-right before this show. I am a HUGE fan of viking/Scandinavian metal, so Týr was right up my alley. I absolutely love the Faeroese language (yes, the hail from the Faeroe Islands!), so I highly recommend them if you liking viking and folk metal. Some songs are sung in Faroese (it looks beautiful in the written form as well) and some in English-my favorites are definitely “Turið Torkilsdóttir”, “Tróndur í Gøtu” (the show opener), “By the Sword in my Hand.” (Yes, all from the new album.)

The guys are also really cool to talk to. Since this show was before Jaxx required permission for photographs (and before I got my Nikon D3000) I didn’t get to talk to the band beforehand, but my friends are great friends with them, so we ended up chilling with all of the guys afterwards behind the venue. Heri was totally cool about taking pictures! Sadly, my friend Annie cut off Heri’s head in a picture she took of us (last one here) but you can see we’re both rockin’ the nose rings. I took one with him recently though, and it will certainly be posted once I get to that batch. For now, enjoy these and let me know what you think. DEFINITELY check out Týr on Myspace!

Týr is:
Heri Joensen – Vocals, Guitar
Terji Skibenæs – Guitar
Gunnar H. Thomsen – Bass
Kári Streymoy – Drums

Camera used: old Fujifilm S700

“we are bound to battle for eternity…” -G.G. \m/